fbpx

What to Do if You’ve Been in a Rideshare Accident in Louisiana

by | Oct 23, 2019 | English | 0 comments

Rideshare services have a number of positive impacts on society and the environment. The Governor of Louisiana just recently passed a bill to build a framework for rideshare services statewide. The bill will help to lower the rate of drivers operating vehicles while under the influence, and also will implement connections between residents and visitors to the state. 

Although rideshare services offer several advantages, there is still the possibility of accidents occurring. Rideshare accidents can be stressful and confusing due to the fact that there are so many separate parties involved. Under the current policies of the varying companies, like Uber or Lyft, drivers should be covered if they are logged into the app. Similarly, passengers should be covered as well. Although, being such a complex concept, there are always some gray areas that exist. 

If you or someone you love has been in a rideshare accident and are unsure of what to do next, our Louisiana car accident attorneys can help. We offer our clients the ability to win compensation after an accident to help cover medical bills, insurance bills, and other post-accident expenses. Contact our Louisiana personal injury law firm today to schedule a free consultation. 

Do Louisiana Rideshares Have Their Own Insurance Policies?What to Do if You’ve Been in a Rideshare Accident in Louisiana

Rideshare companies like Uber or Lyft are covered by their own insurance. These insurance companies must provide at least $1,000,000 of coverage for drivers while they are transporting passengers. Liability coverage is also provided by Uber and Lyft for any accident that is caused by the rideshare driver. However, it does not cover injuries to the rideshare driver or vehicle damage. The state of Louisiana also requires drivers to obtain insurance coverage in the event that the rideshare driver or passenger is involved in an accident in which another party was at fault. This insurance has a limit of $1,000,000. 

Are Uber or Lyft Cars Registered as Commercial Vehicles?

People who drive for rideshare apps do not have to register or insure their cars as commercial vehicles. Although they provide commercial and taxi-like services they are actually exempt from following the same guidelines. The apps argue that a small number of drivers are actually driving full time and logging as many miles as taxi drivers. 

These rideshare apps continue to claim that they are simply a technological startup that acts as the middleman between people needing rides and people willing to give those rides. This loophole allows the rideshare companies to avoid having to operate as commercialized vehicles for hire. 

Hiring a Louisiana Rideshare Attorney

Being a victim of a motor vehicle accident can be overwhelming and stressful. Accidents often leave victims with physical injuries, as well as mental and emotional strains. After an accident, it is always most important for victims to seek medical attention to ensure they are evaluated and treated properly. Once injuries have been taken care of, a personal injury law firm can help victims to fight for compensation for medical bills and other post-accident expenses. 

Our Louisiana personal injury attorneys at Rusty Messer & Associates can help injured victims to find success is their personal injury case. If you or someone you love has been in a rideshare accident and are seeking legal help, contact our firm office today at (225) 963-9638. 

 

Contact Us

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.